How to Lock Your Facebook Profile? Here You Can Get Step by step Guide

Facebook provides its users a host of privacy options, including the ability to lock your profile. Locking a user's profile shows only a limited view of the profile to people who are not on the friends list on Facebook. A locked profile will show photos and posts on the timeline, profile picture and cover photo, stories, and new posts only to people who are in the friends list.

 

A 'locked' person's profile will clearly display the message that the profile has been locked if it is clicked on by a stranger. Once enabled by a user they would be able to apply multiple existing privacy settings and several new features to their Facebook profile. 

dtlimage

If you wish to lock your Facebook profile, you can either do it from the mobile app or from your browser, however, it should be noted that the desktop version of Facebook does not have the option to lock your profile, but there is a workaround. Also, this feature is limited to the Android app. Read on to find out how you can lock your Facebook profile.

 

Step 1: Open the Facebook app and tap on your profile
Step 2: Tap the three dot menu icon next to ‘Add to Story'
Step 3: Here, you should see a Lock Profile option, tap on it
Step 4: The next page will give you a brief on how it works with an option to Lock Your Profile at the bottom, tap on it
Step 5: You should see a pop-up that says ‘You Locked Your Profile', tap on OK

 

Lock Facebook profile via desktop

 

While there is no direct way to lock your app from the browser, there is a workaround that you can use if you do not have access to the mobile app:

 

Step 1: Head to https://www.facebook.com/
Step 2: Click on your profile icon In the URL, replace ‘www' with ‘m' so that the URL now reads ‘m.facebook.com/yourprofilename'
Step 3: This will take you to a mobile version of Facebook on your desktop browser and you should see a three dot menu next to the Edit Profile option
Step 4: In the three dot menu, you should see the Lock Profile option, click on it
Step 5: Just like the Android version, this next page will show you how locking works, with an option to Lock Your Profile at the bottom. Click on it
Step 6: You're profile is now locked